I have so much things to do according to my list. I am hoping that all will be accomplished soon.  Aah, its August already! few more days and the kids’ alarm clock for wake-up call is ready to set off. “Back to school night” is just around the corner. Last night, my eldest daughter sorted out her school stuff that she can still use for this school year. Half of the supply list is pretty much cleared. If lucky, we plan to get everything done this week. The timeline itself is not the problem; getting started is what’s so difficult. Sometimes, I find it hard to believe that even simple matters needed some careful planning.

Part of summer fun (ok,not really!) is completing the school’s required summer book readings and math workbooks. The idea is to help sharpen their math skills and reading comprehension while they are out of school. Thankfully, they all have done that. Photo below is one of those afternoon routines (though not daily). I do hope that they are ready for the test on the first week of school (as scheduled).

 ***

one of the favorite summer poems I learned from highschool was sonnet 18. I remember spending days and nights to memorize it as it was a part of our exam. Now I reminisce the days, I thought of including it here in my summer post.

SONNET 18

(Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer’s Day)

by William Shakespeare

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date.
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimm’d,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimm’d: 
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
  So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
  So long lives this, and this gives life to thee. 

