I dedicate this post to all my friends who live near and far. Those I have known from the past and to those whom I just met. Friends give color to life; they help us keep our sanity intact and moderate our narcissistic tendencies. I thank you for the friendships we made.

 I especially wanted to mention my GR (group reunion) friends to whom I currently share my temporal as well as my spiritual journey in this temporary life.

Being alone and far from my old best friends and family, who I missed so much across the miles; I came to realize how sad it was to be in that woeful state. On September 1998 was the date I met new friends who are yet to be cherished for years and years to come. So thankful for the women’s retreat I attended that year. I can’t believe how times have flown. This year marks the 13th year of our “Friendiversary”.

 What made us click? What makes our friendship last and going? Why are we always happy to be with one another?..questions, questions, so many questions that only ourselves can answer.

When choosing friends, we already know the “how” idea while growing up through the help of our parents, teachers and elders. Sounds ok, but in reality how does it happen?..When we are with friend(s) we give our own self by sharing our thoughts, feelings, helping hands, money, food and whatnot. Most importantly, we do all these because of CONFIDENCE. That’s what make us go on, because it is nourished by confidence and driven with trust. Like a husband and wife, friendship last through the years of sharing compassion with one another but the proof is in Fidelity.

So, think and ask yourself, to whom you confided the deepest, the most sensitive, the most secret experiences that ever happened in your life? whether it be horrible or joyful. Then, you know that those souls are the ones you consider as true friends.

 “Faithful friends are a sturdy shelter:
whoever finds one has found a treasure.

Faithful friends are beyond price;
no amount can balance their worth.
Faithful friends are life-saving medicine;
and those who fear the Lord will find them.”

Sirach 6:14-16

