Seared Tuna Belly

      We were at the seafood store the other day and bought an assortment of fish. I was lucky enough to see fresh from the wild. I purchased some Japanese Saba (Mackerel), Tuna belly and Strawberry grouper (Red Lapu-Lapu) with a good amount of size. I hope to find time taking some notes on those once I prepared ’em. I still have some frozen fish left in my freezer from our last shopping so I did not buy much of fish.

       Last night, I cooked a dish that I haven’t tried before. It’s the photo you are looking on top of this post. It was a simple preparation and my kids loved it to the max. I sliced the tuna belly according to the portion my kids can finish (and the rest went to my husband…kidding!)

     Here’s how to cook it:

Prepare/clean/slice the tuna and marinade it with lemons and 2 tbsp of light soy sauce (depends on how much fish you have) for a few hours.

After a couple of hours, heat the pan, put 2 tbsp of EVOO or your preferred cooking oil.

Saute some garlic for oil flavoring. Drain the marinated tuna.

Sear the Tuna, at least two at a time. While searing, pour a dollop of oyster sauce on top of each. If you wish, you can sprinkle a little sugar if a little bit salty.

Flip the fish to brown the top to caramelized the oyster sauce with the fish.

Voila! it’s ready to serve. Garnish according to your style. I like the grape tomatoes and green onions.

