Happy Birthday Mappytimes!

Happy Birthday Mappytimes!

Did you know that the New York Times is approaching its 161st year anniversary in a few months? But that’s not the reason why I’m celebrating; it’s about the first year “blogoversary” of Mappytimes, Yay! I began sharing my thoughts on WP on July 16, 2011 to be exact. However, I’m kind of late on my anniversary post. The anticipation to post on the precise date was completely overlooked as I was obliged by duty to accomplish the menial yet chief tasks any mother must do.

WordPress…filling the void

I do wear many hats; motherhood is only one of those colorful hats I love to wear. I am busy, yet here I am thrilled on the opportunity to engage with technology during my spare time. I can’t help but to ponder on the things I’ve posted since this blog started. The impetus for starting this blog stems from the fact that my very first blog was taken away into oblivion. The first one I created in 2007 through Friendster site had fallen to extinction. I thought of mentioning just because I’m still bitter about it, or perhaps at least, “from historical standpoint” of this topic.

What’s with the blog name?

MT is of course short for Mappy Times which ended a one word. I have a NY Times app in my phone and one day, my ambitious whim questioned the paper’s title_ what if it’s called Mappy Times, where everything in the news is all about me? (Pardon my narcissistic delusion) 🙂 and yes I can do that, hence the blog name was born. “A glance at my wandering thoughts” was the concept I considered staging in my header, just to give my readers a hint of what they can expect here. I prefer to include anything that founts from my ramblings rather than concentrate in the area of cooking alone or any particular hobby that I know about. I also include personal musing as well as photography stints.

Thanks!

A year of blogging is just a beginning. Whilst I can never consider myself as one of the best bloggers in the blogosphere, I am indulging with delight from all the pleasantries I received with your comments and the steady stream of the fabulous viewers. Being featured twice at “freshly pressed” gave me a flare of motivation to continue with this adventure. In a few days, reaching the 10K hits is another milestone I anticipate. There’s a prevailing sentiment within me about this joyful accomplishment. Thanks to all my readers and subscribers, without you, what’s the point of the writer investing his/her time on a blog?

***

Celebration calls for a cake, but since I already prepared brioche dough sitting in my fridge, I decided to use it as my celebration cake 🙂 Try making this for breakfast or snack, it’s worth it.

Direction:

Combine 1 cup flour, sugar, undissolved yeast and salt. Heat milk, water and shortening until very warm (120º to130ºF). Gradually add to dry ingredients. Beat 2 minutes at medium speed of electric mixer, scraping bowl occasionally. Stir in mashed potato, whole eggs and 1 cup flour; beat 2 minutes at high speed, scraping bowl occasionally. Meanwhile, add the crumbled feta cheese to 1 cup flour and process in a food processor to mix very well, then, combine with the rest of the flour. Stir this flour mixture to make a stiff batter. Detach dough hook and cover dough plus hook loosely with plastic wrap; refrigerate 2 hours. Remove from fridge and add the 3 egg yolks, stir setting on the mixer. Remove hook from the dough this time and cover loosely again with plastic then refrigerate for 1 or up to 22 hours.

When ready to bake, sprinkle your work surface generously with flour. Grease your hands and place the dough on the work surface. Sprinkle the dough generously with flour anywhere it is sticky, and divide using dough cutter into three portions. Degas by pressing with your palms or rolling pin and shape into a rectangle about 8 inches by 10 inches.

Apply softened butter on the rectangular dough except 1/2 inch from edges. Roll from the long side to form a log. Using dough cutter, swiftly cut at intervals of 1-1/2 inches. Place on greased baking sheet cut side up, 1 inch apart. Alternatively, you may use brioche molds (5-inch diameter) sprayed with butter flavored oil. (This whole recipe will yield 3 logs, 8-9 rolls each. A log can be frozen by wrapping tightly in cling wrap. When ready to use, thaw in room temperature for 15 minutes before slicing, then let rise for about 2 hrs to 3 hrs or until doubled).

Brush with melted butter, and cover with greased plastic to rise for 30 minutes to one hour (depends on how warm your environment is) until doubled in size.

Bake at 350ºF for 12-15 minutes or until done and golden light brown. Remove from pans; cool on wire rack for about 30 minutes or until completely cool.

The result of my brioche was amazingly soft and perfect, in the Philippines, this is called “Ensaymada” but it’s hard to get a super soft recipe like this one. Credit goes to Bukisa.com for this wonderful recipe.

