I still have one more day to enjoy before going back to work mode. Tomorrow, my snooze button will be useful again. The past weeks have been wonderful just because the atmosphere was the most anticipated time of the year. I accomplished many things on my list during the holiday break while several of them are yet to be crossed out. I just completed today some of the most time-consuming tasks I need to get done…Happy me!

I’m still eating some of our New Year left-over food. Thankfully, there’s enough to suffice my girls who eat like birds. I did not cook any main dish on New Year’s Day. Food is everywhere at Christmas time. I decided to prepare something light on day one of 2016. The hubs and I paid a trip to the grocery store the day before and purchased our favorite brie with good finds on charcuteries. Before heading to our trips as scheduled on New Year, I prepared cheese board and small bites to keep us going.

The cheese and charcuterie board reminded me the time when I was in Germany. I’m used to eating hot foods in the morning but I learned to eat cold cuts and artisanal bread early in the day during my stay in Frankfurt with a strong cup of coffee as the only hot item on the table.

 

Cheese Board and Charcuterie

Cheese Board and Charcuterie

 This combination of figs and olives are delicious. They are both sweet and tangy.

IMG_0158-1

 I’m used to the sweetness of brie but this one is both a bit salty and sweet. I’ve been looking for a triple cream and stores are usually available with double cream. I’m glad I found this. The texture is similar when you eat Lindor chocolate. Of course, how can I forget the Ancho chili jam that is almost like a tradition in the presence of a brie. The caramelized almonds complement well with the cheese.

IMG_0145-1

This is something that intrigued me when I saw this at the store. It is called Panforte di Siena. I googled it and I found that this can be eaten as a dessert or a breakfast. It has an acquired taste with strong spicy taste. This is good with coffee, just make sure you don’t put sugar because this is very sweet. I told my girls that when I ate it, I felt like I am in a different era, probably around the 1500s. I know it’s odd but I just felt like it. Well, that is something different for this new year. Never be afraid of something new!IMG_0153-1

Here’s the full brand name that I took photo while in the store

Panforte Di Sienna

Panforte Di Siena

 

 

